This is the "Bible Versions
and Pronunciation" page of the "Bible Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Bible Resources  

Find useful tools for Biblical study.
Last Updated: Mar 19, 2013 URL: http://athenaeum.libguides.com/bible Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Bible Versions and Pronunciation Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

BibleWorks

BibleWorks 9 software is available on select, marked computer stations in the Reading Room. BibleWorks is an extensive study tool with many different applications for exegesis and research. BibleWorks allows you to study multiple translations in multiple languages with tools to compare and analyze chapters, verses, and words, while cross-referencing your research with related material. Visit the library to use and learn about this software.

Bibles Online

  • BibleGateway.com
    A searchable online Bible in over 100 versions and 50 languages. The NAB is not included.
  • USCCB
    New American Bible from USCCB.
  • BIBLIACLERUS
    Vatican site with searchable biblical text and commentaries.
  • Douay-Rheims Catholic Bible
    Searchable online text of the first Catholic Bible in English.
  • New Jerusalem Bible
    Searchable online text of the most widely used Roman Catholic Bible outside of the United States.
  • Sacred Text Archive
    Includes several Bible versions, including the Septuagint, the Tanakh, the Vulgate, the Polyglot King James Version, etc.
 

Biblical Research

Biblical research calls for the use of specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books. Begin by identifying key passages, terms, and concepts for research. Many resources are online; however, much more is available in the library collection.

Finding Bibles in the Library

Maly Library uses Dewey Decimal classification. Knowing basic Dewey numbers for the Bible will help you locate resources you need. All Bible resources are found in the 220s:

  • 220.1 Origin of the bible
  • 220.3 Encyclopedias/Dictionaries of the Bible
  • 220.4 Original texts/early translations
    • 220.486 Septuagint
  • 220.5 Modern versions and translations
    • 220.5202 Douay-Rheims Bible
    • 220.5203 King James Bible
    • 220.52043 New Revised Standard Version
  • 220.6 Interpretation/criticism (exegesis)
  • 220.7 General commentaries
  • 220.8 Nonreligious subjects treated in the bible (e.g., plants, music)
  • 220.9 Geography, history, and persons of the bible
  • 221 Old Testament – general
  • 222 OT – Historical books
  • 223 OT – Poetic books
  • 224 OT – Prophetic books
  • 225 New Testament – general
  • 226 NT – Gospels and Acts
  • 227 NT – Epistles
  • 228 NT – Revelation (Apocalypse)
  • 229 Apocrypha, pseudepigrapha
      

    Pronunciation Guide

    Your Librarian

    Profile Image
    Connie Song
    Contact Info
    Ph. 513.233.6135
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip