Learn how to use Maly Library databases to find journals, articles, and more.
Last Updated: Apr 16, 2014
Due to licensing agreements, these resources can be accessed only on the workstations within Maly Library:
Visit these freely available biblical databases online:
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Click on "Religion" under Subjects for full text access to the New Catholic Encyclopedia (2nd ed), Encyclopedia of Philosophy (2nd ed), Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd ed), and Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions. Other subject reference works are also available to you.
- Oxford Reference Online
Resources include a subject collection of reference works on Religion and Philosophy, including such titles as The Oxford Companion to Philosophy, A Dictionary of Popes and the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. **TIP** Use the search box in the top right corner of the home page to search all Oxford References in one search.
- OhioLINK Electronic Book Center: Scholarly and Reference E-Books
Full text access to scholarly and reference works from the following publishers: ABC-CLIO, Gale, Oxford University Press, Sage and Springer.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An open access reference work kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
Through Maly Library, faculty and students have access to a wide variety of databases, which can be accessed in the library or remotely. Library staff members are happy to assist you in selecting and using databases for your research.
- ATLASerials - NEW as of April 2014!!
ATLASerials is an online full-text collection of over 250 major religion, theology and philosophy journals. It is updated quarterly and contains over 451,000 records from 1881 to the present. An EBSCO database.
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI)
The CPLI database is an index to articles published in Catholic journals and magazines as well as an index to Papal documents and Catholic books. It includes some full text and contains over 420,000 records with coverage from 1981 to the present. An EBSCO database.
- ATLA Religion Database
Indexed by the American Theological Libraries Association, this database includes citations for articles, book reviews, essays, and book chapters from Christian publications covering all aspects of religion from 1949 to the present. Some full text coverage. An EBSCO database.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection
The Religion and Philosophy Collection provides a collection of articles from over 290 full-text journals covering philosophy, biblical studies, and a broad range of religions. An EBSCO database.
- Philosopher's Index
Philosopher's Index provides scholarly research since 1940 in fifteen fields of philosophy, published as journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. The Index includes more than 622 regularly indexed current journals from more than 40 countries in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Dutch, Portuguese, Czech, Hungarian, Polish and many other languages. An EBSCO database.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
The Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection includes an index, abstracts, and full-text articles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. An EBSCO database.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. An EBSCO database.
- CINAHL Plus
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides citations and full-text literature of nursing and allied health from 337 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. An EBSCO database.
- OhioLINK Databases
Many additional online research databases are available through OhioLINK. They can be viewed by subject, by type of database, or alphabetically by name.
To print several pages of ebooks within the EBSCO interface: Click on "ebook full text" on the left. When you see the ebook view, there is a small printer icon on the right side. Click that and a box will open at the top showing you the printing limits. You may select options to print to a PDF containing the limit of pages.
- eBook Academic Collection
Search and view the full text of ebooks from EBSCO. This is a general collection that includes religion and philosophy titles.
- Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to over 7,000 electronic books in 19 subject areas, including Religion, Philosophy, Psychology, and more.
- OhioLINK Digital Resources Commons (DRC)
The DRC provides a robust, statewide platform for saving, discovering and sharing--”free of charge”--the instructional, research, historic and creative materials produced by the University System of Ohio and Ohio's private colleges. You can search for all variety of content including documents, such as articles, preprints, working papers, technical reports, conference papers, theses, dissertations, images and data sets. It also supports a variety of digital file types and formats including audio, video, streaming video, multimedia presentations, animations, simulations, learning objects and Web pages.
Use WorldCat to search for an item in libraries worldwide. Maly Library may be able to request than an item be sent to our library for your use.
- Google Books
Search the full-text of an immense collection of digitized books.
Maly Library does not subscribe to JSTOR, but through JSTOR's Register & Read Beta Program you can still use JSTOR for free on a limited basis. Register & Read is a new, experimental program to offer free, read-online access to individual scholars and researchers who register for a MyJSTOR account. With an account you can access one article from JSTOR every two weeks.
Use the link below to learn more about Register & Read, and to register for a MyJSTOR account.