Banner Image

Faculty Publications: Faculty Publications

Displays the publications of faculty members from the Athenaeum of Ohio/Mt. St. Mary's Seminary.

Faculty Publications

Browse this list of publications created by members of the Athenaeum of Ohio/ Mount St. Mary's Seminary faculty. If Maly Library has print or online access to a publication, a link to the catalog or a direct link to the material has been provided for your convenience.

 

Rev. Benedict O'Cinnsealaigh, S.T.D.

Rev. Anthony R. Brausch, Ph.L.

Dr. Terrance D. Callan, Ph.D.

Mr. Anthony J. DiCello, M.M.

Rev. David J. Endres, Ph.D.

Rev. Earl K. Fernandes, S.T.D.

Dr. David Ruel Foster, Ph.D.

Deacon Tracy W. Jamison, Ph.D.

Rev. Paul J. Keller, O.P., S.T.D.

Rev. Msgr. Frank Lane, Ph.D.

Sr. Betty Jane Lillie, SC, Ph.D.

Dr. Susan McGurgan, D. Min.

Mr. Kevin J. Prendergast, M.A.

Rev. Theodore C. Ross, S.J., S.T.L

Rev. Timothy P. Schehr, Ph.D.

Rev. Michael A. Seger, S.T.D.

Deacon David Shea, D.Min.

Faculty Collaborations

Rev. Benedict O'Cinnsealaigh, S.T.D., Rector of Mount St. Mary's Seminary
President, Athenaeum of Ohio
Associate Professor of Systematic Theology
Archbishop Daniel Pilarczyk Chair in Systematic Theology

The mellifluous bee: a presentation and analysis of the Marian theology contained in the sermons of Adam of Dryburgh. Bloomington, Indiana: Authorhouse, 2010.

 “The acolyte: minister of the altar.” Homiletic and Pastoral Review 104, no. 2 (November 2003): 52–59. Available in Print

 “The relationship between the Blessed Virgin Mary and Christ’s priests.” Josephinum Journal of Theology 11, no. 2 (Sum-Fall 2004): 235–244. Available in Print

 

Top

 

Rev. Anthony R. Brausch, Ph.L., Vice-Rector, Mount St. Mary's Seminary
Director of Formation
Instructor of Philosophy

“Parish administration: theological foundations.” Church 19, no. 4 (2003): 24–27. Available in print

Top

 

Dr. Terrance D. Callan, Ph.D., Dean of Special Studies
Director of Assessment
Professor of Biblical Studies

A Note on 2 Peter 1:19-20.Journal of Biblical Literature 125, no. 1 (2006): 143–150.

Comparison of Humans to Animals in 2 Peter 2,10b-22.” Biblica 90 (2009): 101–113.

“Competition and boasting: Toward a psychological portrait of Paul.” Studia Theologica 40, no. 1 (1986): 137–156. Available in print

Dying and rising with Christ: the theology of Paul the Apostle. New York: Paulist Press, 2006.

Forgetting the root: the emergence of Christianity from Judaism. New York: Paulist Press, 1986.

“Paul and the Golden Calf.” Proceedings of the Eastern Great Lakes and Midwest Biblical Societies (1990): 1–17. Available in print

“Paul, the Law and the Jewish People.” In Within Context: Essays on Jews and Judaism in the New Testament, edited by D.P. Efroymson, E.J. Fisher, and L. Klenicki, 123–37. Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press, 1993.

Pauline Midrash: The Exegetical Background of Gal 3:19b.Journal of Biblical Literature 99, no. 4 (1980): 549–567.

Prophecy and Ecstasy in Greco-Roman Religion and in 1 Corinthians.Novum Testamentum 27, no. 2 (1985): 125–140.

“Ps 110:1 and the Origin of the Expectation that Jesus Will Come Again.” Catholic Biblical Quarterly 44 (1982): 622–636. Available in print

“Psychological perspectives on the life of Paul.” In Psychological Insight into the Bible: Texts and Readings. Grand Rapids, Mich: William B. Eerdmans Pub. Co, 2007.

Psychological perspectives on the life of Paul: an application of the methodology of Gerd Theissen. Lewiston, N.Y. [etc.]: The Edwin Mellen Press, 1990.

Reading the Earliest Copies of 2 Peter.Biblica 93 (2012): 427–450.

The background of the Apostolic Decree (Acts 15:20,29; 21:25).Catholic Biblical Quarterly 55, no. 2 (April 1993): 284.

The Christology of the Second Letter of Peter.Biblica 82 (2001): 253–263.

The origins of Christian faith. New York: Paulist Press, 1994.

“The Preface of Luke-Acts and Historiography.” New Testament Studies 31, no. 4 (1985). Available in print

“The Saying of Jesus in Gos. Thom. 22/2 Clem. 12/Gos. Eg. 5.” Journal of Religious Studies 16 (1989): 46–64. Available in print

The Soteriology of the Second Letter of Peter.” Biblica 82 (2001): 549–59.

The Style of Galatians.” Biblica 88 (2007): 496–516.

The Style of the Second Letter of Peter.Biblica 84 (2003): 202–224.

The Syntax of 2 Peter 1:1-7.The Catholic Biblical Quarterly. 67, no. 4 (2005): 632.

Use of the Letter of Jude by the Second Letter of Peter.Biblica 85 (2004): 42–64.

Callan, Terrance. “Rhetography and rhetology of apocalyptic discourse in Second Peter.” In Reading Second Peter with New Eyes: Methodological Reassessments of the Letter of Second Peter. Library of New Testament studies 382. London ; New York: T & T Clark, 2010.

Watson, Duane Frederick. First and Second Peter. Paideia: commentaries on the New Testament. Grand Rapids, Michigan: Baker Academic, 2012.

Top

 

Mr. Anthony J. DiCello, M.M., Assistant Director of Music

 

Roman Catholic Cathedral Musicians Conference.” In American Organist Magazine, 41:69–70. American Guild of Organists, 2007.

Teaching seminarians music: course descriptions from nine seminaries. Washington, D.C.: Pastoral Press : NPM Publications, 1991.

“Developing a model for music formation.” Pastoral Music 11 (January 1987): 28–31. Available in print

“The Snowbird statement on Catholic liturgical music.” Pastoral Music 20, no. 3 (February 1, 1996): 13. Available in print

DiCello, Anthony J, Donald Keith Fellows, and National Association of Pastoral Musicians (U.S.). For clergy and musicians: a document: the Snowbird Statement on Catholic Liturgical Music. Washington, DC: National Association of Pastoral Musicians, 1996.

DiCello, Anthony J, Donald Keith Fellows, and National Association of Pastoral Musicians (U.S.).  The Snowbird Statement on Catholic Liturgical Music. Salt Lake City, UT: Madeleine Institute, 1995.

 

Top

 

Rev. David J. Endres, Ph.D., Co-Director of Field Education
Assistant Professor of Church History and Historical Theology

American crusade: Catholic youth in the world mission movement from World War I through Vatican II. Eugene, Or.: Pickwick Publications, 2010.

“An International Dimension to American Anticommunism: Mission Awareness and Global Consciousness in the Catholic Students’ Mission Crusade, 1935-1955.” U.S. Catholic Historian 24, no. 2 (2006): 89–108. Available in print

“An Ohio ‘Holy Joe’: Chaplain William T. O’Higgins’ Wartime Correspondence with Archbishop Purcell of Cincinnati, 1863.” Ohio Civil War Genealogy Journal 13, no. 2 (June 2009): 73–78.

“Caritas.” Edited by Mehmet Odekon. Encyclopedia of World Poverty. Thousand Oaks, Calif: SAGE Publications, 2006.

“Catholic Campaign for Human Development.” Edited by Mehmet Odekon. Encyclopedia of World Poverty. Thousand Oaks, Calif: SAGE Publications, 2006.

“Coughlin, Father Charles.” Edited by Mehmet Odekon. Encyclopedia of World Poverty. Thousand Oaks, Calif: SAGE Publications, 2006.

Dan Lord, Hollywood Priest.” America 193, no. 19 (December 12, 2005): 20.

“‘Father, Aren’t You Afraid I’ll Become Muslim?’: The Challenge of Encountering Non-Christian Religions.” Homiletic & Pastoral Review electronic edition, December 27, 2012. http://www.hprweb.com/2012/12/father-arent-you-afraid-ill-become-muslim-the-challenge-of-encountering-non-christian-religions/  (accessed April 18, 2013).

 Forty years together in Christ: a history of Sacred Heart of Jesus Catholic Church of Fairfield, Ohio, 1957-1997. Hamilton, OH: American Printing], 1997.

“Healy, Rev. Sherwood.” Edited by Henry Louis Gates and Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham. The African American National Biography. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.

History of the Lauer and Bohr families. [Fairfield, Ohio] (2450 Clara Bea Lane, Fairfield 45014): D.J. Endres, 1994.

“Homilies for Sunday liturgies and feasts : Feb 6 through Feb. 27.” Homiletic and Pastoral Review 111, no. 4 (January 2011): 33–38. Available in print

“Know-Nothings, Nationhood, and the Nuncio: Reassessing the Visit of Archbishop Bedini.” U.S. Catholic Historian 21, no. 4 (2003): 1–16. Available in print

“Making Truth Attractive: Fr. Daniel A. Lord, S.J., Hollywood Priest and Playwright.” Religious Life 36, no. 4 (August 2012): 6–7.

“New York City Draft Riot (1863).” Edited by Junius P. Rodriguez. Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 2007.

“On the rebirth of holy names.” Homiletic and Pastoral Review 109, no. 1 (October 2008): 44–48. Available in print

“Rectifying the Fatal Contrast: Archbishop John Purcell and the Slavery Controversy Among Catholics in Civil War Cincinnati.” Ohio Valley History 2, no. 2 (March 2002): 23–33. Available in print

“Religious Vocations.” Edited by George Thomas Kurian. The Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization. Chichester, West Sussex ; Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.

“Response to Reviews.” U.S. Catholic Historian 29, no. 2 (2011): 29–30. Available in print

“Rivers, Rev. Clarence Joseph.” Edited by Henry Louis Gates and Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham. The African American National Biography. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.

“Roman Catholicism.” Edited by James Ciment. Postwar America: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History. Armonk, N.Y: M.E. Sharpe, 2007.

“Society of Saint Vincent de Paul.” Edited by Mehmet Odekon. Encyclopedia of World Poverty. Thousand Oaks, Calif: SAGE Publications, 2006.

“Sticks, Stones, and Broken Bones: The History of Anti-Catholic Violence in the U.S." Homiletic & Pastoral Review electronic edition, August 11, 2014. http://www.hprweb.com/2014/08/sticks-stones-and-broken-bones-the-history-of-anti-catholic-violence-in-the-u-s/ (accessed August 22, 2014).

“‘Take the Word of God to the Heart of the City’: Cincinnati’s Catholic Bible Center Apostolate, 1964-1971.” U.S. Catholic Historian 30, no. 1 (Winter 2012): 15–34. Available in print

“The Global Missionary Zeal of an American Apostle: The Early Works of Daniel A. Lord, S.J., 1922-1929.” U.S. Catholic Historian 24, no. 3 (2006): 39–54. Available in print

The Legacy of Thaddeus Yang.International bulletin of missionary research. 34, no. 1 (2010): 23.

“U.S. Catholic Conference.” Edited by Mehmet Odekon. Encyclopedia of World Poverty. Thousand Oaks, Calif: SAGE Publications, 2006.

“Uncles, Rev. Charles Randolph.” Edited by Henry Louis Gates and Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham. The African American National Biography. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.

Top

 

Rev. Earl K. Fernandes, S.T.D., Dean of Mount St. Mary's Seminary
Dean of Athenaeum of Ohio
Assistant Professor of Moral Theology

“Encountering Christ in teaching and prayer.” In Seminary Theology II: Theology and Spiritual Direction in Dialogue. Omaha, Neb: Institute for Priestly Formation, 2011.

Ongoing Formation in Moral Theology: Saint Alphonsus Liguori and the Priests of Today.Seminary Journal 15, no. 1 (April 2009): 51–57.

“Pastoral formation: the heart of the matter.” Homiletic and Pastoral Review 111, no. 7 (April 2011): 76–77. Available in print

Seminary formation and homosexuality: changing sexual morality and the Church’s response.Linacre Quarterly 78, no. 3 (August 2011): 306–329.

“The Demands of Human Dignity.” National Apostolate for Inclusion Ministry (Fall 2010). http://nafim.org/e-journal/current-edition/?tx_ttnews%5Btt_news%5D=100&cHash=c32f2d81c47de6d1a1546e8d1ee6d2be (accessed April 17, 2013).

Top

 

Dr. David Ruel Foster, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Philosophy

 

“Aquinas on the immateriality of the intellect.” Thomist 55 (July 1991): 415–438. Available online

“Aquinas’s arguments for spirit.” In Religions and the Virtue of Religion, 235–252. Washington, DC: American Catholic Philosophical Assoc, 1992.

“Credo Ut Intelligam.” Edited by Robert L. Fastiggi. New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement 2012-13: Ethics and Philosophy. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, Cengage Learning, 2013. Available in print

“‘Faithful Reason Project’: next steps.” Seminary Journal 13, no. 3 (2007): 6–6. Available in print

“Implications of ‘Fides et ratio’ for seminaries.” Seminary Journal 11, no. 1 (Spr 2005): 15–21. Available in print

“Intellectual formation in a school for apostles.” Seminary Journal 11, no. 2 (Fall 2005): 34–39. Available in print

“Is philosophy still necessary?” Seminary Journal 8, no. 3 (2002): 17–20. Available in print

“Philosophy.” Edited by Robert L. Fastiggi. New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement 2012-13: Ethics and Philosophy. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, Cengage Learning, 2013. Available in print
 
“Reality.” Edited by Robert L. Fastiggi. New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement 2012-13: Ethics and Philosophy. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, Cengage Learning, 2013. Available in print

“Six ways theology uses philosophy.” Seminary Journal 5, no. 1 (Spr 1999): 51–58. Available in print

“The implications of Fides et ratio for Catholic universities.” In The Two Wings of Catholic Thought: Essays on Fides Et Ratio, 109–126. Washington, D.C: The Catholic University of America Press, 2003.

Top

 

Deacon Tracy W. Jamison, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Philosophy

“Defining the Obvious.Homiletic & Pastoral Review (September 9, 2013). http://www.hprweb.com/2013/09/defining-the-obvious/ (accessed October 8, 2013).

Embryo adoption and the design of human nature : the analogy between artificial insemination and artificial impregnation.National Catholic Bioethics Quarterly 10, no. 1 (Spr 2010): 111–122.

"Flannery O’Connor & the Representation of Mystery.” New Oxford Review 77, no. 6 (June 2010): 28–31.

“John Kippley’s covenant theology of sex.” Homiletic and Pastoral Review 106, no. 8 (May 2006): 61–70. Available in print

“Thinking.” Edited by Robert L. Fastiggi. New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement 2012-13: Ethics and Philosophy. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, Cengage Learning, 2013. Available in print
 

Top

 

Rev. Paul J. Keller, O.P., S.T.D., Associate Professor of Sacramental and Liturgical Theology

 

101 questions & answers on the sacraments of healing: penance and anointing of the sick. New York: Paulist Press, 2010.

"Hearts Upward!" Faith Magazine 45, no. 5 (Sep/Oct 2013): 5. Available online

“How ‘Catholic’ is the Sacred Liturgy? Or: A Mass for the Masses.” Antiphon 17, no. 3 (2013): 212-224. Available in print.

A Lenten Journey with Jesus Christ and St. Thomas Aquinas. Wellesley, MA: Christus Publishing, 2013.
 
Henritzy, Elias, and Paul J. Keller. Jesus is the way. River Forest, Ill.: Priory Press, 1989.
 
"Recent Proposals for the Pastoral Care of the Divorced and Remarried: A Theological Assessment." Nova et Vetera 12, no. 3 (2014): 601-630.  Available online

 

Top

 

Rev. Msgr. Frank Lane, Ph.D., Spiritual Director

 

“Freedom and Authority: The Law, Peter Olivi, and the Second Vatican Council.” Franciscan Studies 62 (January 1, 2004): 155–176.

“‘Not for time but for eternity: family, friendship and fidelity in the Poor Clare monastery of Reformation Nürnberg.” Franciscan Studies 64 (2006): 255–279.

 “The priest: configured to Christ the Redeemer.” Priest 58, no. 3 (March 2002): 37–42. Available in print

 “The seminarian and the world: what is formation?” Josephinum Journal of Theology 8, no. 1 (Wint-Spr 2001): 163–168. Available in print

 “‘We Have No Abiding City’: Caritas Pirckheimer.” Josephinum Journal of Theology 6 (Sum-Fall 1999): 88–106. Available in print

 “Wisdom and wasteland: Jeremy Taylor in his prose and preaching today.” Josephinum Journal of Theology 9, no. 1 (Wint-Spr 2002): 167–170. Available in print

 

Top

 

Sr. Betty Jane Lillie, SC, Ph.D., Professor of Biblical Studies

“Koinonia in the New Testament: integral dynamic of the Christian life.” Proceedings - Eastern Great Lakes and Midwest Biblical Societies 28 (2008): 55–66.

“Matthew’s wisdom theology : old things and new.” In Proceedings, Eastern Great Lakes and Midwest Biblical Societies, Vol 9, 1989, 124–137. [Cincinnati]: Eastern Great Lakes & Midwest Biblical Societies, 1989.

“Recovering the feminist biblical heritage through shift of rhetorical historical paradigm.” In Proceedings, Eastern Great Lakes and Midwest Biblical Societies, Vol 14, 1994, 1–20. [Cincinnati]: Eastern Great Lakes and Midwest Biblical Societies, 1994.

“Sickness and Death: Scriptural Perspectives.” Liturgical Ministry 7 (Wint 1998): 1–8. Available in print

“The vocations of Elijah and Elisha.” Bible Today 33 (May 1995): 141–145. Available in print

 

Top

 

Dr. Susan McGurgan, D. Min., Director, Lay Pastoral Ministry Program

“Preaching Hope in Times of Polarization.” In We Preach Christ Crucified, edited by Michael Connors, 142–148. Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press, 2014.

Top

 

Mr. Kevin J. Prendergast, M.A., Instructor in Pastoral Counseling and Pastoral Studies

Letters to God from teenagers. Cincinnati: St. Anthony Messenger Press, 1979.

Top

 

Rev. Theodore C. Ross, S.J., S.T.L, Assistant Professor of Church History and Historical Theology

“The personal synthesis of liturgy and justice: five portraits.” In Living No Longer for Ourselves, 17–35. Collegeville, Minn: Liturgical Pr, 1991.

“Catholicism and fundamentalism.” New Theology Review 1 (May 1988): 74–87. Available in print

 

Top

Rev. Timothy P. Schehr, Ph.D., Professor of Biblical Studies
Robert and Ruth Conway Family Chair in Biblical Studies

 

“Eavesdropping on Biblical conversations with God.” St Anthony Messenger 112, no. 3 (August 2004): 22–27. Available in print

Finding your Bible: a Catholic’s guide. Cincinnati, Ohio: St. Anthony Messenger Press, 2004.

“Jeremiah -- the power of God’s Word.” Bible Today 19 (March 1981): 87–92. Available in print

The Bible made easy: a book-by-book introduction. Cincinnati, Ohio: St. Anthony Messenger Press, 2006.

“The Perfect Indicative in Septuagint Genesis.” Bulletin of the International Organization for Septuagint and Cognate Studies 24 (1991): 14–24. Available in print

 

Top

 

Rev. Michael A. Seger, S.T.D., Professor of Moral Theology
James J. Gardner Chair in Moral Theology

The Treatment of Sacred Art in the Catechism.Louvain Studies 22, no. 1 (May 1, 1997): 39–58.

Top

 

Deacon David Shea, D.Min., Associate Professor of Homiletics

Unmet Needs in Catholic Preaching: A Project of the Archdiocese of Cincinnati.Seminary Journal 16, no. 2 (September 2010): 33–42.

Unfulfilled in Their Hearing: Critical Issues in the Sunday Homily. Cincinnati, OH: St. Anthony Messenger's Press, 2010.

Top

 

Faculty Collaborations

Preparing for the Great Jubilee: Year 1-1997. Essays by the Faculty of the Athenaeum of Ohio. Cincinnati, Ohio: Athenaeum of Ohio, 1997.

Preparing for the Great Jubilee: Year 2-1998. Essays by the Faculty of the Athenaeum of Ohio. Cincinnati, Ohio: Athenaeum of Ohio, 1997.

Preparing for the Great Jubilee: Year 3-1999. Essays by the Faculty of the Athenaeum of Ohio. Cincinnati, Ohio: Athenaeum of Ohio, 1998.

The Great Jubilee: 2000 Essays by the Faculty of the Athenaeum of Ohio. Cincinnati, Ohio: Athenaeum of Ohio, 2000.

Year for priests: June, 2009 - June, 2010 Essays by the faculty of the Athenaeum of Ohio. Cincinnati, Ohio: The Athenaeum of Ohio, 2009.

Year of Faith: October 11, 2012 - November 24, 2013 Essays by the faculty of the Athenaeum of Ohio. Cincinnati, Ohio: The Athenaeum of Ohio, 2013.

Year of Saint Paul: June, 2008 - June 2009 / Essays by the faculty of The Athenaeum of Ohio. Cincinnati, Ohio: The Athenaeum of Ohio, 2008.

Year of the Eucharist: October, 2004 - October, 2005 Essays by the Faculty of the Athenaeum of Ohio. Cincinnati, Ohio: Athenaeum of Ohio, 2005.

Top