Banner Image

Interlibrary Loan: Interlibrary Loan

Learn how to request books and articles from libraries around the world using Interlibrary Loan.
What is Interlibrary Loan?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service offered to all students and faculty. If you need a book or article that is not available in Maly Library's print or electronic collection - as indicated in the library catalog or the Journal Finder - the library can submit a request to receive the book or article from another library.

The ILL process can take between 4-7 days to complete.  Books shipped through the mail can take longer, so please plan your requests accordingly.

How Do I Request an Item?

There are two ILL request methods, depending on the source of your citation:

EBSCO Database Citations

If the article is found in an EBSCO database, but not in full-text, it may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

  • From the Results List in the EBSCO database click on the link: Interlibrary Loan
  • Fill in the form (only starred items need to be filled in).
  • The database will automatically complete the citation information.
  • If you are willing to pay for the article, please include the maximum amount you are willing to pay in the 'Cost not to exceed' field.
  • Click on the submit button. The request will be sent to a Maly librarian to process.
  • Articles will be e-mailed to you as soon as they arrive.

 

All Other Citations

Requests for articles or books from other sources (for example, from book bibliographies or non-EBSCO databases) may be placed using the form found here:  Request an Item

Your Librarian
Claire Ballinger
Contact:
513-233-6136
Eugene H. Maly Memorial Library
6616 Beechmont Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45230
Is ILL Free?

Every effort is made to obtain ILL from free providers. However, some items may require an ILL fee. If you are willing to pay for your request, please include the maximum amount you are willing to pay on the request form.